Soft Sprouted Spelt Dinner Rolls

It was a different type of Thanksgiving for us this year as some unforeseen events led to our local family leaving town for an emergency leaving us unable to travel because it was too close to the date to take leave from work. We had a special day nonetheless and for the first time ever, I was responsible for 100% of the cooking. This was both terrifying and freeing. When, while shopping, my husband held up a package of those soft pull apart dinner rolls, I immediately thought of the sprouted spelt flour I had in the pantry and said “I’ll make some”.

I assumed it would be easy to find a recipe, but my searching came to naught amd I was ready to give up when I remembered this recipe from Jenny at Nourished Kitchen. (Jenny’s blog is an amazing resource with lovely photos!) I had made it two years ago and had forgotten about it since. I wasn’t sure that it would translate well into a roll recipe and I prefer spelt to wheat, so I made some ingredient changes and voila! My husband said they were the best I’ve ever made.

Ingredients
3 cups sprouted spelt flour
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons dry yeast
1 teaspoon heavy cream
1 tablespoon melted butter

Warm milk slightly, whisk in honey and yeast and set aside until frothy, to indicate that the yeast is working.

Combine the flour and sea salt in a large bowl, reserving a tablespoon or two for kneading. When milk mixture is ready, add to the flour and mix until combined and then let it rest for 10 minutes before kneading.

Sprinkle the remaining flour over the dough and knead for seven or eight minutes until the dough develops some spring. (This is a sticky dough, but don’t add too much flour.) Allow the dough to rest another 10 minutes.

Knead another seven or eight minutes; the dough will feel much smoother now. Cover with a slightly damp cotton cloth and allow to rise about 2 hours.

when dough has doubled, punch down and divide into eight rolls by creating a circle with your thumb and pointer finger and forcing dough through so that it forms a ball. I arranged my rolls on a circular stoneware baking dish. Cover again and allow to rise to double (it will be much quicker this time).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, melt butter and whisk with cream. Brush gently over the tops of the rolls before baking. Bake for about 25 minutes until golden brown and an instant read thermometer reads at least 190 degrees.

Serve warm with good butter!

*I made eight medium sized rolls, but it would easily make a dozen smaller rolls

3 thoughts on “Soft Sprouted Spelt Dinner Rolls

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Roast Chicken | Nourished Rebecca

  2. I had a wonderful recipe for sprouted spelt rolls which I most unfortunately lost. I couldn’t find it again and I was thrilled to try this.. I’ll be making them tomorrow. Can I omit the cream? I use goat milk and don’t have cream.
    Thank you!

    • Hi Lanie! I think you can use an additional Tablespoon of butter and they should turn out just fine! Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

