Hard Cider Pulled Pork

We didn’t eat pork in my home when I was growing up, but I have special memories of my Nan making roast pork when we would visit and I have developed a soft spot for it.  I created this recipe because I love the tenderness of pulled pork, but didn’t want barbeque.  It is a new Autumnal spin on my favorite grilled tenderloin recipe that I make in Summer.

Image

 

Ingredients

2 lbs pork loin or tenderloin

1 sweet onion, thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 tablespoon spicy brown mustard

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 bottle hard cider (I used Woodchuck)

Add all ingredients (except pork) to a crock pot and mix well.  Add pork and coat in the mixture.  Cook on low for 8 to 12 hours, shred and enjoy!

P.S.  I made white rice because of concerns about arsenic levels being highest in brown rice.  Has anyone else heard this?  Even the organic varieties are at risk!

Leave a Reply

